Old Mill Lifestyle House

The Sights of the Neighborhood

Komarom

The Fortress of Monostor

Central Europe’s largest modern fortress was built between 1850 and 1871 as one of the last elements of Komarom’s fortress system defending Vienna.

The construction was based on the most demanding building technique using the most advanced military principles of its age; the intricate network of walls and towers built of carefully carved stones, earth-works, and underground dungeons is still fascinating today.

The fortress served generations of the soldiers of Hungarian army through a century, although military conflict fortunately evaded it. Soviet teams used the fortress in past decades. They abolished the armory when they left, thus eliminating the military role of the fortress. Therefore, the general public can visit the classicist military monument nowadays.

A museum show presenting Komarom’s military life, a Komiszkenyer exhibition, and professional guidance await the visitors. It is a special experience to discover the dim and interminable row of halls and the crooked corridors, the towers with a complicated system of embrasures and emplacements, the bakery supplying the regiment, educational boards and inscriptions painted on the walls, the former stables of the chargers, or even the forest on the floodplain of the Danube shore.

Solymosy-Gyurky Castle

Built between 1912-13 in historizing style, currently a hospital. During World War II, Soviet teams robbed the building; the soldiers kept horses in the middle building section; the library has been burnt down; the two Venice mirrors standing in the assembly hall were shot into, the imprints can still be seen today.

The museum of Gyorgy Klapka

In the main building of the museum, mythology-themed murals discovered in Brigetio, artefacts, graves, under-floor heating and a well reconstruction can be seen. In three sarcophaguses, complete artifacts including skeletons, objects of use, and jewels were presented.

In the lapidarium, we may inspect the stone carvings originating from the city of the Roman-era Brigetio under Szony.

Opened in the basement of the town hall in 1987, a unique exhibition features documents, sailor mementos, navigational devices, maquettes, naval war affairs represented by glass paintings to demonstrate the history of Hungarian commerce and navy from the middle of the 13th century to the end of World War II. The stylized deck and the captain cabin fill the sights with more experience.

Tata

The Old Lake

The Old lake

The lake is the responsibility of the international Ramsari convention, which was enacted to protect the world's most important aquatic habitats; there is no other place in Europe where the timorous wild geese spend the night together in a crowd in the center of a town.

The neighborhood is noisy from the gaggling of 10-15 thousand wild geese in the autumn-vernal migration period.
The people of Tata complement the natural specialty with colorful programs every year.

The Castle of Eszterhazy

The baroque building complex was built in accordance with the plans of Jakab Fellner in the 18th century. The castle was the scene of an important historical event, the peace treaty between emperor Ferenc and Napoleon, known as the schönbrunn peace.

The multi-storey main building with corner towers was built between 1764 and 1769. From the stone frames of the inner windows looking out to the ground-floor corridor, one can deduced that this corridor was originally an open porch, which was built in later. The marble bathroom and the so-called Dutch-tiled bathroom on the upper floor were probably established in 1897.

The most imposing room of the castle is a green panelled assembly hall upstairs with gilded stucco decoration, which forms the royal ornamented dining room. The assembly hall served as a parlor. At the time of the 1897 military manoeuvre, emperor and Hungarian king Jozsef Ferenc stayed at the castle. The rooms at the other end of the castle gave luxurious accommodation to German emperor Vilmos II.

The northern tower opens from the other assembly hall of the castle, which is also panelled and equipped with a stove and a fireplace, overlooking the lake, where the peace treaty was signed in 1809. The last Hungarian king, Karoly IV, escaped to the castle after the unsuccessful battle of Budaors.

The park in front of the castle was a part of the English Park, and still keeps its memories today. The building, being under reconstruction, will work as an exhibition room and a representative cultural site of the Board of National Monuments.

The Old Castle

The Old Castle

The castle was built in 13th-centruy Gothic and Renaissance style, with 14th and 15th-century extensions and transformations, but the 18th century baroque and the 19th century romantic style did not allow it to be touched either. Its fortress is a 16th-century creation.

We can access the area of the castle by going through the bridge built by Jakab Fellner, while taking a closer look at the walled-up original gate on our left. Beyond the gate, the reconstructed palace wing rising behind the ruin area offers an imposing sight. The base walls of the four corner towers of the castle and the palace wings joining them are well discernible.

The castle may have been built upon a rock seed emerging from the surrounding wet-swampy area between 1397 and 1409. It was not built for defensive purposes, rather as an estate centre; it was used as a resting area and a hunting castle throughout the royal era. Hence it could have been a castle with royal splendor for Zsigmond Luxemburg, and later for Matyas Hunyadi. The castle was turned into a museum in 1959.

Kuny Domokos Museum

The Kuny Domokos Museum has been operating in the building of the castle since 1954.
Apart from the collection of the Piarista Museum (Tatatóváros) founded in 1912, it preserves a notable collection of primarily bronze-age and Roman-age materials of archaeology, natural science, regional history, fine- and industrial arts, and domestic and international ethnography, and, among other things, the memories of Tata faience manufacture.

In the 13 rooms of the castle, regular exhibitions can bee seen, covering the Roman era to the 19th century, containing the history of Tata and its surroundings. There are two rooms for temporary exhibitions.

The Museum of Greek and Roman statue replicas

The monumental building of the former Tata synagogue gives home to the Greek and Roman replica statues. The antique department of the Fine Arts Museum bought the replica collection in the beginning of the 20th century, from when the antique (archaic, Greek, Roman, Hellenic) era’s most outstanding creations’ proportional replicas originate.

The ground floor of the synagogue exhibits archaic and classic Greek art (BC 7th-6th and 5th century). Of the creations of the Hellenic era and the fine works of the Roman era (BC 4th –AD 3rd century), 100 pieces got a place in the gallery.

The German Nationality Museum

Founded in 1972, The German Nationality Museum (Ungarndeutsches Landesmuseum) undertakes to collect, preserve, and exhibit the material and intellectual culture of the Hungarian Germans.

The museum got a place in the Nepomucuis mill built by the plans of Jakab Fellner in 1758. Currently its permanent exhibition displays the history of Carphatian Germans and their traditional culture on three levels.

The Outdoors Museum of Geology

It's one of the country's most beautiful outdoor museums. 200 million years old geological strata and contemporary calcified or petrified remains of the marine and terrestrial life can be seen in the Kalvaria-hill Geology Conservation Area in Tata. Of the great geological periods, the exhibition room displays the Triassic, Jurassic and Cretaceous ages.

In the outdoor museum of geology, the geological sights are completed with an installed botanical collection containing more than six hundred plant groups.

The landscaped area with the Szekler gate carved by Erno Cs. Kiss in honor of the millennium offers pleasant relaxations. During a walk in the former quarry, in the white, red and greenish-grey limestone-, flint-, grit stone and marl layers, we can discover fossils in the rocks (mussels, snails, etc). The entrance of the thermal karst cave opens from the park. The cave was named Megalodus cave by their explorers after the lots of Megalodus mussels and Triassic living beings fossilized on the walls of the cave.

On the upper part of the park, a covered pavilion displays evidences proving that flint, which was used to make objects by the Stone Age man, was mined. In the lower park, in a smaller outdoor exhibition, our nation’s usable mineral resource can be seen.

Mineral exhibition

Several exhibition cases in the corridor of the Community centre exhibit rare and odd minerals found in nearby caves and excavations. The exhibited items belong to the Megalódusz Cave Explorers.

The English Park and Palm House in Tata

The English Park and Palm House in Tata

The English Park is a typical modern creation of the 18th century, which reflects the intellectuality and ideological currents (from rationalism to freemasonry) and styles (from sentimentalism to classicism) of the age of enlightenment.

It displays spiritual and emotional factors as the scene of withdrawal and meditation; its arrangement and greenery also serves this purpose.

The garden of Tata naturalizes the weeping willow in Hungary; the sight of which, just like its name, suggests sentimentality. The English Parks require a variety of grounds and a multitude of water features. All this is developed so that it rises to the illusion of undisturbed nature. The park was built with the plans of manorial engineer Ferenc Böhm by the order of Count Ferenc Eszterházy in 1782.

The castle garden was erected in the lake-town quarter definitely far from, but still connected to the Count’s castle, on the heights once called Frog-mountain, where the regulated Cseke lake could already be found.
Several sources with high flow rate originated here, which fed streams with crystal clear water, powering dozens of mills in the city.
The closed garden could be accessed through more gates; guarded by griffs (the Count’s crest animals), the crested gate was the main gate.
The gate directly led to the summer cottage built in 1784.

Reaching as high as two storeys, the circle-shaped assembly hall depicts a wide landscape around its walls – giving the viewer the feel of being in an open arbor in the nature, definitely far from the official world and public life. The artificial ruins were finished a few years later. These ruins are eclectic, emotionally rich, and nostalgic buildings, reminding us of the middle ages and antiques; they are the monuments of time. Apart from the famous artificial ruin, more artificial grottos can also be found in the English Park. In the garden, the most ridling among the distinctive buildings specific to the English Park is the ”Turkish mosque”. The octagonal, ogived slotted building is Gothic and Oriental at the same time; its freshwater limestone masonry is related to that of the artificial ruins.

The palm house was established for breeding and wintering valuable southern plants in the end of the 1780’s. The hall, glazed from the southern side, became a popular entertainment place for the residents of Tata and tourists from the end of the 1930s. After the Count opened his English Park to the public, the palm house – named kioszk – was often the scene of garden entertainments and balls. The same period was the golden age of the neighboring Crystal pool. Today the Palm Event House, is the visitor’s center of the park, and awaits visitors with both printed and electronic prospectuses.

Calvary

The Calvary chapel was built in Gothic style in 1350. It was changed to baroque style in 1755, based on the plans of Jakab Fellner. The Calvary hill is a nature reserve - and also a superb lookout. In the Middle Ages, a village, Szentivan’s houses stood here, and a church dedicated to Saint John was built on the hilltop.

The church, which survived the Turkish times but was in a bad condition, was knocked down in the middle of the 18th century. What remained of the sanctuary was turned into a chapel by Fellner; on its ceiling there is an 18th-century, baroque wall picture. The baroque Calvary sculptural group was built by Antal Schweiger around 1770.

Bell or Tower Clock

The carpentered belfry was built for the bell of the capucinus church in 1763. The work of master carpenter Jozsef Eder is a unique building, standing at its original place today, and it’s one of the symbols of the city. Its specialty is that the timberwork was made without iron nails. The building, which originally accommodated the bells, was renovated and clocks were set up on it with the initiation and subsidy of Zoltan Magyar in the 30s.